Carson on Sappho

42

their heart grew cold

they let their wings down

48

you came and I was crazy for you

and you cooled my mind that burned with longing

56

not one girl I think

who looks on the light of the sun

will ever

have wisdom

like this

57

what country girl seduces your wits

wearing a country dress

not knowing how to pull the cloth to her ankles?

88A

in front

toward

loosen

you would be willing

slight

to be carried

someone

me                    more sweetly

and you yourself know

forgot

you

some one would say

and yes I

shall love                      as long as there is in me

will be a care

I say I have been a strong lover

painful

bitter

and know this

whatever you

I shall love

for

of weapons

146

neither for me honey nor the honey bee

Perfect nightstand material.

(Really just perfect)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

